About Us

We are not a Bank or Savings and Loan. We are a Credit Union. First Cheyenne Federal Credit Union is a member owned, not-for-profit, financial cooperative, meeting the needs of our members. We are owned and controlled by our members. Our Board of Directors is elected from within our membership and those individuals serve in a volunteer capacity. Volunteer leadership has always been a fundamental component of the Credit Union Movement.

We are a full service financial institution dedicated to serving and meeting the needs of our members.

Board of Directors

First Cheyenne Federal Credit Union is a Community Charter Credit Union which is owned, directed and controlled by its members.

Credit unions differ from banks and other financial institutions in that the members are both customers and shareholders, with each member entitled to one vote in constitutional matters such as election of directors and changes to rules.

The Board and Management are responsible for establishing the operational standards, strategic plans and objectives to ensure the Credit Union remains economically viable and an attractive financial solution for its members.

Table data for Board of Directors
Alert Me
Phil Leichtweis Chairman
Ann Enlow Vice Chairman
Jim Nicholls Treasurer
Louis Gates Secretary
Bill Helms Director

Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee provides an additional set of checks and balances. These volunteers act as a liaison between the Credit Union membership and management. The Committee ensures the Credit Union maintains its financial integrity and that members' concerns reach the employees who can best improve our service.

Any questions or concerns you may have regarding the credit union should be directed to:

LaRoy Books, Chairman
P.O. Box 21577
Cheyenne, WY 82001

Management Team

Table data for Management Team
Alert Me
William L. Helms III President/CEO
Bonnie Lawrence Executive Vice President
Amy Wilson Vice President/Operations